Checking In

There’s been a lot happening in the world lately, and I’ve been thinking long and hard about what I want to say. I knew that saying nothing wasn’t an option, but I didn’t just want to say the first thing that popped into my head either. So for the past few days I’ve been absorbing and thinking and drafting in my head, and now I’m writing.

I started this blog because I wanted to bring more kindness into the world. I wanted a forum where I could share and encourage kindness. I think it’s so important to start teaching kindness to people while they’re still in school so hopefully it becomes a part of their being and of their daily life. So hopefully events like the events of this weekend don’t continue to happen.

I am tired of reading about shootings – small and large. It’s become too much a part of life. Something needs to be done. But I also have to remember that I am only one person. I don’t necessarily have the power to make large scale change. Many of us don’t. But we all have the power to spread kindness. We all have the power to create kindness ripples. We all have the power to do nice things simply because we can. And that’s what we need to do.

We need to promote kindness. Promote love. Promote being nice because we can be and we should be. We need to hold more doors for people and buy surprise presents for the people we care about and smile at people because everyone can appreciate a smile.

So please, go out in the world. Spread kindness. Make the small difference that only you can make. If we all work to make a small difference, those small differences will eventually add up  to a big difference. To a spreading of kindness. And that’s what we need in the world.

B

Leave a Reply

