Musings

I’ve thought about this blog a lot lately, because I’ve thought about a lot of different things lately. January has been a really challenging month for me; I started the month off super sick with bronchitis, and then my job, which I love, became super challenging. Add in the gray dreary weather, and I was really struggling to find the sunshine.

Fortunately for me, most of my New Year’s Goals focused on focusing on me, focusing on self-care, doing things that make me happy, having a more positive mindset. So I started working on all of that. I’ve been meditating daily for quite some time now, and I’ve made sure to continue with that. I’ve been writing in my journal every night before I go to bed. I’ve been thinking about what I can do not only to be my best and happiest self, but to spread the happiness. The world is in a crazy place right now, and everyone needs to spread happiness and kindness when they can. That’s something that I’ve felt strongly about for quite some time now, and this was not the moment to back away from that.

I knew coming into 2017 that I wanted to expand this blog, which I’ve written about already. I wanted this blog to be a place where I focused on spreading kindness, but also a space where I focused on me. I tend to bottle things up and not always focus on the sunshine, and I’m hoping that keeping this blog will help me break those habits. So today is the launching point for that.

In today’s post I want to talk about some things that I use to help take care of myself. Maybe you’ll think that they’re great ideas, and maybe you won’t. But we won’t know until you read what I’ve shared.

  • Journaling. Yes, in 2017 I still keep a pen and paper journal. I broke the habit a little bit in the fall, and I regretted it. Journaling helps me understand how I’m feeling and what I’m thinking. To me there’s something incredibly theraputic about writing my thoughts and hopes and dreams and emotions out by hand before I go to bed.
  • Drawing. Now, to be fair, I have some level of artistic talent. But I lack the ability to imagine what I want to draw. So when I say drawing, I mean finding images on Pinterest that I can draw and make my own.
  • Coloring. In case you haven’t picked up on it by now, I like paper. I like pens and pencils. And I tend to lean towards creative outlets. With all the “adult” coloring books out there, there’s something for everyone.
  • Reading. Again, this is something that I had temporarily abandoned, and recently found my way back to. I’ve read 2 books already this month (just for pleasure) and I’m working on my third. There is something fantastically calming about getting lost in a book and forgetting all your worries.
  • Meditating. This isn’t for everyone. And it’s challenging. But I take a couple of minutes each day to use my app to log how I’m feeling and just focus either on an idea or just on the silence. It helps calm and ground me at the end of a long day.

There is also a big movement behind the idea of a digital detox. And I’m all for it. As a society we spend a lot of time plugged into our phones and on our computers and watching TV. At the same time, I have to spend a lot of time on the computer for work (logging grades, sending emails, etc.) and TV is my background noise. So I’m trying to take small steps towards a digital detox – less time on my phone, really thinking about if I want to be watching TV, and when I do watch TV I try to be drawing or writing or coloring while I’m doing it.

What do you do to find inner peace? Let me know in the comments!

B

Leave a Reply

