First Day Back

Hi Y’all!

Today was the first day back to work after spring break. I love my kiddos and my coworkers, but I’m already looking forward to summer. Mostly I’m looking forward to being able to sleep past 5:00 in the morning if I want to, and having time to enjoy the day. There’s a definite “rush rush rush” mentality at my job, and I want to take a step back from that.

I think it’s really important to take a step back from that “rush rush rush” mentality. It’s so easy to get caught up in what’s going on around you and think that even the littlest things are just SOOOO important. And sure, they might be important. They might even be really important. But they’re not so important that they’re worth losing your mind over. And sometimes it’s really hard to remember that.

I have a tendency to get caught up in the grading and the lesson plans and the data collection. And all of that is so important for my work, but it’s not important enough to totally dominate my life.

I want to remember to slow down on a more regular basis. I want to do things like enjoy the nice weather. Spend lots of time writing. Go to the beach now that the weather is getting warmer. Spend time being creative. Spend time with the people that I love most.

I do all of those things, but sometimes I push them to the side in favor of getting that one last thing done for work. I’m working hard to reprogram my brain to remember and understand that it’s important to do things for me, things that are fun, things that make me my best me.

I think if I can remember that I’ll be ok.

B

Leave a Reply

